The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum requires that all children study both core and foundation subjects at primary level.


Core Subjects

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science

Foundation Subjects

  • History
  • Geography
  • Art
  • Music
  • Design Technology
  • Physical Education
  • Computing

Naturally, Religious Education is one of our core subjects, and the children learn about the teachings and way of life of Jesus, and elements of Doctrine of the Catholic Church. There are daily assemblies which include Acts of Worship, and a weekly Gospel Assembly relating to the Liturgical Year. Children are encouraged to take part actively in these, both in preparation and carrying out and follow up work. The school follows the ‘Come & See’ scheme.

Subjects are largely taught through topics, especially in the lower years but a subject approach becomes apparent in many elements of the junior curriculum plan.